Ham, Egg, & Cheese Stuffed Roll

 

Some of you may recall my other stuffed roll egg dish, ” Bacon and Eggs In A Roll,” Where I stuff  rolls with bacon and eggs pictured here to the right.

Quite delicious I might add. So my wife loves them and wanted me to make them again, but this time I changed it up a bit. Instead of bacon I used ham, instead of Rosemary I used Basil, Instead of Parmesan I used Emanthaler, I added a garlic dressing, and I melted the cheese on the tops covering the roll rather than leaving the tops lose.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Popeye seed rolls
  • 4 Slices of hap 1/8-1/4 inch thick, depending on your appetite.
  • 4 Eggs
  • 4 pinches of dried basil
  • 4 Tbl of Creamy Garlic salad dressing
  • 4 Slices of Emmenthal cheese

Start by preheating your oven to 200 degrees celsius. I used a double grill element 3 slots below the top grill element. Take your rolls and hollow them out. Take the excess bread and feed it to your new dog, wich I got on Saturday, or eat it yourself with some nice olive oil. My issue here was the rolls were to small to accomodate the ham inside so the ham was beneath the bread in a baking pan.

Place a tbl spoon each of your creamy garlic salad dressing in each hollowed out roll. Then Sprinkle dried basil on each one. Place in oven for 5-8 minutes or until the yolk begins to turn white and thicken. Remove from oven, place top of roll back on top of each roll and a slice of ementhaler over each top. Place back in oven until cheese is completely melted. Then just cut into and enjoy the golden rivers of heaven.

This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Basil, Bread & Grains, Breakfast, Breakfast Sandwich, Cheese, Cooking, Cuisine, Eating, Eggs, Ementhaler Cheese, Food, Ham, Herbs & Spices, Meat, Recipes, Rolls. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ham, Egg, & Cheese Stuffed Roll

  1. Charles says:

    This looks great – I love eggy, cheesey, gooey stuff so it looks right up my street. I’m not sure about the emmental cheese you guys can buy in the US but the stuff I buy here in France always seems very hard and not at all suitable for melting (as in – you heat it and it just kind of sits there becoming ever more rubbery :/ ) so I’d probably swap out the emmental for comté or gruyère :)

    • Now Gruyere sounds like a plan for my next plan of attack. I love Gruyere. Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the substitution idea. When I lived in NYC me and my then fiance at the time would go to the market at Grand Central station. They had some wonderful cheese shops. We would get a selection of five cheeses, Gruyere always one of them, and my other favorite raclette. Then we would head back to the apartment, get a movie, msome grapes, and some wine, and just relax with the cheese plate.

      • Charles says:

        If you’re ever after a cheese which melts really well, instead of cheddar, try to see if you can get your hands on something called Cantal. I’ve never seen it outside France alas, but they have an English Wikipedia entry for it so it must be at least a little known… Ooh, and try some English cheese called “Wensleydale” – damn that stuff is good… and and… oh, I could go on about cheese all day :D

  2. Tes says:

    Wow I love the yoke break out of the bread! It’s heaven! :)

  3. Thanks for stopping by Rufus. Breakfast anytime is my Motto :)

  4. 6501168 says:

    My breakfast fave now a days is ham or bacon, sunny side up eggs, avocado and salsa. Fuck. Yes.

  5. Linda says:

    Wow.. this makes a great presentation! It seems like it would be perfect for guests. I am seriously adding this to a weekend brunch!

  6. Yum, love the tomato and the runny yolk. I never eat breakfast on weekdays and I seriously want this now.

Leave a Reply

