Chicken Sandwich with Roasted Red Peppers & Carmelized Onion

 

So I made some roasted red peppers yesterday to be used for dinner but I was not sure what to make with them. Eventually I decided to use them on a wonderful chicken sandwich.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Red Peppers roasted and quartered.
  • 8 Cloves of Roasted Garlic
  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • 1/4 Cup of Pesto Sauce
  • 4 toasted Slices Of Bread
  • 4 Slices of Swiss Cheese
  • 2 Medium Onions Sliced into 1/8 inch to 1/4 inch rings.

It requires a bit of prep to make this delicious sandwich, but you can do most of this ahead of time and then save the items until you are ready to use. There is nothing wrong with always having some roasted red peppers, roasted garlic, or a bowl of carmelized onions in the fridge for a rainy day, although yesterday was actually a sunny day.

First roast your red peppers and garlic. If you need to know how to do this just go here for the peppers and here for the garlic. You will also have to carmelize your onions wich I talk about here in one of my favorite breakfast recipes.

For the chicken you can cook off some breasts or use a roasted chicken. I happened to buy a roasted chicken at the store because I was actually planning on making chicken salad, but my wife wanted carmelized onions, so I had to change plans a bit.

AFter roasting the garlic I will mash and blend in with the quarter cup of pesto sauce. I will spread the pesto sauce on the bottom part of the toasted bread. Then add the chicken, carmelized onion, slice of cheese, and roasted red pepper. Cover with the last piece of toast and put in oven briefly to melt the cheese. Remove from oven and then enjoy. So this week roast some peppers and garlic, and make some carmelized onions, because you never know when you might need them.

This entry was posted in Appetizers & Snacks, Carmelized Onions, Cheese, Chicken, Dinner, Food, Garlic, Herbs & Spices, Italian Cuisine, Meat, Onions, Recipes, Red Peppers, Roasted Garlic, Roasted Red Peppers, Roasting Garlic, Sandwiches, Swiss Cheese, Toast, Vegetables, Yellow Onions. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chicken Sandwich with Roasted Red Peppers & Carmelized Onion

  1. Pingback: Shrimp Stuffed Bannana Peppers with Onion & Swiss Over Fried Potatoes | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  2. Sophie says:

    That looks yuuuummy. I think I’m gonna go have lunch now. 😀

  3. Ship's Cook says:

    A fine use of leftovers, I don’t think you can go far wrong with peppers, onions, garlic and cheese

Leave a Reply

