Chicken & White Bean Soup

For my earliest memory of soup I can remember sitting at a table eating chicken broth. I had said to my mother that it will take too long to eat with a spoon. Afterall, weren’t all  my liquids drunk  from a cup. She said to keep eating as I could not leave the table until I was done. I said to my mom,  “I do not use a spoon to drink my milk so I will not use it to drink my chicken soup.” So I picked up the little bowl and began drinking it from the bowl. I was 3 years old and ever since then I have felt that if there is nothing but broth in your soup, then it’s just a hot beverage!  Here is a perfect soup to get you through a cold day with plenty of reasons to use that spoon.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 Litres of Water
  • 1 8oz Chicken breast Diced
  • 2 Celery Stalks Chopped
  • 1 Carrot Chopped
  • 1 Medium Onion Diced
  • 15 SLices of Leek 1/8 Inch Thick
  • 8 Garlic Cloves
  • 1 Small Can of White Beans In Brine
  • 2 Tbl Minced Basil
  • 3 Tbl Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3 Beef Bouillon Cubes

Place your olive oil in a pan and heat on medium high heat. Add all your vegetables and begin to cook. In a cup with hot water place one bouillon cube. As the pot with the vegetables begins to dry out and the veggies start to stick to the bottom, add a 1/4 of your beef stock and scrape the bottom of the pan. Do this 4 times until your vegetables change to a golden brown as shown below.

Then add your chicken and basil and continue to cook stirring every 2-3 minutes. When the chicken is almost done add your white beans along with the brine. Heat for a few more minutes and then add your water and the remaining two beef bouillon cubes. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes. If your impatient just bring to a boil and serve. Perfect for a cold day or a hearty lunch, so much better than broth.

This entry was posted in Basil, Carrots, Celery, Chicken, Chicken Broth, Cooking, Cuisine, Eating, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Food, Garlic, Herbs & Spices, Leeks, Meat, Olive Oil, Onions, Recipes, Soup, Stock, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chicken & White Bean Soup

  1. Abdel Irada says:

    I like this recipe, but I find the page hard to read. Black type on a red background just doesn’t contrast well. Please consider a lighter background color.

  2. Eiddwen. says:

    Another great one here, I have a brilliant collection now !!
    Keep them coming ,
    Take care
    Eiddwen.

  3. gmomj says:

    Wow!That’s beautiful!

  4. What a lovely recipe for chicken soup – I like the addition of the white beans.
    🙂 Mandy

    • Thanks Mandy for stopping by 🙂 I did not use white beans at all in the past but recently have been using them as a garnish for entres, side dishes mixed with something else, or as you can see as an addition to soup. Quite versatile

Leave a Reply

