Italian Sausage Sandwich With Grilled Onions & Cheese

I have two favorite aromas; I love the smell of a Cuban cigar coming fresh from the box or humidor; and I love the smell of sausage and onions grilling, wether it be at a county fair, the market in Munich, or my own stove top. I suppose there is no better feeling than cooking some sausage and onions and then having a nice Cuban cigar. But here is the dilemma. While I can get good Cuban cigars any day in Prague, finding good Italian sausage has become a quest. While I love German, Spanish, and Czech sausages, there is nothing like good Italian sausage to remind me of my grandparents kitchen. So while this little sandwich has calmed me for a moment, the quest continues.

Ingredients:

  • Two Italian sausage links sliced lengthwise
  • 4 slices of rye or dark bread (Have yet to find a proper roll here, but most Czechs eat their sausage with a dark flat bread) I say use what you have or prefer.
  • 2 tsp of Minced Garlic
  • 2 Tsp of Minced Basil
  • 1 Medium Onion slices into 1/8 inch rings
  • 2 Tbl of extra virgin olive Oil
  • 2 Slices of Emmenthal Cheese

Place your olive oil in a skillet and heat on medium high heat. Add your onions and sausage and cook until onions have some charing but not caramelized all the way. While the sausage is cooking take two slices of your bread and spread 1 tsp of minced garlic and 1 tsp of minced basil to each slice of bread as shown below.

When the sausage and onions are complete place the onions down first on the side with your garlic and basil and then the sausage on top of that. For mine I added some Emmenthal cheese, but if I had it, I would have put some nice grated chunks of fresh parmesan or romano instead. I recommend the later. Not much to it but it sure starts the rest of the day off on a nice foot, or sets up that perfect cigar which I am having next.

 

Hopefully when I am in Florence next week I can pick up some good Italian Sausage and bring it back. Does anyone know if you can freeze sausage? If you have an answer to this let me know. Your answer will help me decide whether to take a small or large suitcase.

This entry was posted in Basil, Cheese, Cooking, Cuisine, Eating, Ementhaler Cheese, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Food, Garlic, Herbs & Spices, Italian, Italian Sausage, Meat, Olive Oil, Onions, Parmesean, Recipes, Rhye Bread, Romano Cheese, Sandwiches, Sausage Sandwich. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Italian Sausage Sandwich With Grilled Onions & Cheese

  1. Eiddwen says:

    I love these recipes which I hope to try out !!
    So well presented with great photos to give that finished look !!!
    I am collecting them all .
    Thanks for sharing
    Take care
    Eiddwen.

  2. Looks good! Love the way you used the garlic & basil on the bread!

  3. Korena says:

    Looks delicious. Yes you can freeze sausage – at least, I do, and they still taste just fine! Large suitcase it is 😉

  4. What a beautiful sandwich. I can smell it through the computer (and almost taste it too!) I love caramelizing onions and using them in dishes or on pizza. An Sausage – I am not sure I have met a sausage I didn’t like! Great combo. Sincerely, Emily

  5. Tammy McLeod says:

    You know, I rarely eat meat but a sandwich of this caliber will draw me right out of my discipline! Love the Italian sausage and the way you’ve put it together.

  6. Fabulous combination of flavours.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

