Chicken Salad Sandwich With Mayo & Horseradish Mustard

I always loved my grandmother’s chicken salad sandwich, but like chicken soup, my other grandmother and my aunts all made it different. Some were chunky some were smooth, some were packed with veggies and some just had celery. Surprisingly, and they all agreed, the best chicken salad sandwich they would say was from the hospital snack bar in Greenville, Pennsylvania. It really was quite delicious. But this is just one of my many variations.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Whole chicken, fresh cooked or already roasted. (I always buy a whole chicken to make this. But I never seem to be able to use the leg, wing, and thigh meat because, well, I just eat it while I am cutting every thing else up. So this was just the breast meat.)
  • 1 Red Onion Diced
  • 1 Celery Stalk Diced
  • 1 Bannana Pepper Diced
  • 1/4 cup of Fresh Basil Leaves Chopped
  • 2 Scallions Chopped
  • 1 Tbl of Granulated Garlic
  • 4 1/2 Tbl of Mayo
  • 1 1/2 Tbl of Horseradish Mustard

In a large mixing bowl dice your chicken into 1/4 inch pieces, including the skin, especially if it was seasoned and roasted. Add all your ingredients with the mayo and mustard last and stir until incorporated. Then just serve. It does not get any simpler, or delicious.

This entry was posted in Basil, Celery, Chicken, Chicken Salad, Cooking, Cuisine, Eating, Food, Garlic, Herbs & Spices, Horseradish Mustard, Mayonaise, Meat, Recipes, Red Onions, Salad, Sandwiches, Scallions, Spreads. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chicken Salad Sandwich With Mayo & Horseradish Mustard

  1. Medeja says:

    Sounds really delicious 🙂 Dont know what is bannana pepper but without that im sure it would taste great too

  2. I rarely eat sandwiches but when I do, I want them to be special. This sounds like a special chicken sambo. I like the little bit of heat with the horseradish mustard and the zing of basil. Lovely flavours.

  3. What a wonderful sandwich. My chicken mayo sarmies are usually made with mayo, gerkins, onions, salt and pepper.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

